Group members.

Postal address: School of Physics and Astronomy, University of Southampton, Highfield Campus, SO17 1BJ, United Kingdom.

E-mail addresses should be appended with

Hendrik-Ulbricht Professor Hendrik Ulbricht
Group Leader | Email: h.ulbricht | Room: 46/5011 | Fon: +44 (0)23 8059 2073
Research Area: Matterwave interferometry, Levitated opto-mechanics, Levitated magneto-mechanics
Interests: Foundations of quantum mechanics, Nanoparticle cooling techniques, Experimental tests of collapse models, Gravity and Quantum, Gravimetry

Hendrik-Ulbricht Dr Andrea Vinante
External Research Fellow | Email: a.vinante | Room: 46/3038 | Fon: +44 (0)23 8059 2104
Research Area: Low Temperature Physics
Interests: Tests of quantum mechanics, Ultra-precise sensing, Dilution refridgeration

Chris-Timberlake Dr Christopher Timberlake
Research Fellow | Email: ct10g12 | Room: 46/3038 | Fon: +44 (0)23 8059 2104
Research Area: Magnetic Levitation, Gravity measurements, Nanoparticle manipulation
Interests: Cryogenics, Superconductors, Optical feedback

Hendrik-Ulbricht Tiberius Georgescu
PhD student | Email: T.S.Georgescu | Room: 46/3038 | Fon: +44 (0)23 8059 2104
Research Area: Levitated Optomechanics, Matterwave interferometry
Interests: Free fall experiments, optical gratings, optomechanics, steady-state squeezing

Hendrik-Ulbricht Wangke Yu
PhD student (jointly with Jize Yan from ECS) | Email: wangke.yu | Room: xxx | Fon: +44 (0)23 8059 2104
Research Area: Levitated Optomechanics, photonic waveguides
Interests: Angular momentum of light and optical vortices, Rotation of nanoparticles

Hendrik-Ulbricht Hailong Pi
Research Fellow (jointly with Jize Yan from ECS) | Email: hailong.pi | Room: xxx | Fon: +44 (0)23 8059 2104
Research Area: Levitated Optomechanics, photonic waveguides, nanofabrication
Interests: Gravimetry and force sensing with levitated particles, EPSRC project

Undergraduate Group Members.

Jack Homans (Year in Experimental Physics project student)

Elliot Simcox (MPhys final year project student)

Abiyouth Sandakumar (MPhys final year project student)


Dr Xiangming Xu (PhD student, external with Jize Yan, 2017-21)

Ian Dolby (MPhys - Year in Experimental Physics Research Student, 2019-20)

Dr Giulio Gasbarri (Post-doc, 2019-2020, now post-doc in quantum information at Barcelona)

Dr Ashley Setter (PhD student, 2016 - 2020)

Dr Maria Chiara Braidotti (Visiting Research Fellow, 2019)

Raya V Mancheva (Summer project student, 2019)

Thomas Gee (Summer project student, Q-Lab project, 2019)

Rowland Rich (Summer project student, 2019)

Dr Luca Ferialdi (Newton Fellow, 2018-19, now at University of Trieste)

George Fairweather (BSc project student, 2018-19)

Douglas Barnes (BSc project student, 2018-19)

Charlie Howell (BSc project student, 2018-19)

Muddassar Rashid (PhD and Post-doc, 2012-2018, now at KCL)

Marko Toroš (Post-doc, 2017-2018, now at UCL)

George Winstone (summer student 2011, MPhys student 2013/14, then PhD with us 2015-2018, now post-doc in Geraci group)

Martin Dimitrov (Summer project student, 2018)

Peter Thomas (Odgen Trust summer project student, 2018)

Klara Bas (Summer project student, 2018)

Toby Mitchell (Summer project student, 2018)

Joe Ford (MPhys Year in Experimental Physics student, 2017-18)

David Hempston (PhD student, 2013 - 2017, now into serious programming at iSolutions)

Jamie Vovrosh (PhD student, 2013 - 2017, now post-doc with Kai Bongs at Birmingham)

Markus Rademacher (post-graduate Erasmus researcher, 2017, then Master student at Kiesel group, now PhD student at Barker group)

Jack Morphew (PhD student, 2013 - 2017)

Paul Clark (PhD student, 2012 - 2016, now working in industry)

Joseph Vovrosh (Summer project student, 2016, then undergraduate at Birmingham University, now PhD at ICL)

Ben Stray (MPhys project student, 2015/16, now PhD at Birmingham)

Lewis Piper (MPhys project student, 2015/16, now PhD at Soton)

Dr James Bateman (Post-doc 2012-2015, now Lecturer at Swansea University)

Kit Webber (summer student, 2015, undergraduate at Bryn Mawr College, PA, USA)

Sam Rios (MPhys student, 2014/15)

Chris Dawson (MPhys student, 2014/15, now PhD at Swansea)

Joel Collins (MPhys student, 2014/15, now PhD at Bath)

David Murdoch (MPhys student, 2014/15)

Sebastian Lovestam (MPhys student, 2014/15)

Kenneth Thomas (MPhys student, 2014/15)

Dr Nathan Cooper (post-doc 2012-2014, now post-doc at Nottingham)

Mark Jenei (summer student 2014, undergraduate at UCL)

Ali Farzaneh Far (summer student 2014, then Masters in Maths at Cambridge, now PhD at Imperial)

Eva Kilian (ERASMUS from Vienna 2013/14)

Marco Moreno (MPhys 2013/14)

Robert Young (MPhys 2013/14)

Augustin Eden (BSc 2013/14)

Chloe Green (BSc 2013/14, now in the city, financial sector)

Samuel Hillman (Summer student 2013, undergraduate at Oxford, now PhD at ICL)

David Elcock (Summer student 2013, then PhD at Soton)

Harry Morris (Summer student 2013, now in industrial R&D)

Xiaxi Cheng (Erasmus and summer student 2012/13, now PhD at ICL)

Ashley Greathead (MPhys 2012/13)

Richard Hudson (MPhys 2012/13)

Zahari Dimitrov (Erasmus 2012/13)

Jesus Vergara (Erasmus 2012/13)

Dr Carola Szewc (PhD student 2008-2012)

Jekaterina (Kate) Cepurite (Sepnet Summer student 2012)

Joe Spencer (MPhys student, 2011/2012)

Mark Treasure (MPhys student, 2011/2012)

Sam Hendry (MPhys student, 2011/2012)

Will Hay (MPhys student, 2011/2012)

David Grass (Erasmus student, 2011/2012, then PhD at Vienna)

Mag. Wolfgang Trasischker (Visiting Scientist, 2011, then PhD in bioscience at Vienna, now at Harvard)

Claire Blejean (summer student, 2011, then PhD at Cambridge University)

Marta Becerril (summer student, 2011)

Michelle C Ross (MPhys, 2010/2011)

Liam A Boodhoo (MPhys, 2010/2011, then PhD with ECS Nanogroup Southampton)

Joseph Rushton (MPhys, 2009/2010, then PhD with Matt Himsworth at Southampton)

Lee Patterson (MPhys student, 2009/2010)

Jamie D Collier (Summer student, 2009/10, then PhD in nuclear physics)

Charlotte Davis (Summer student, 2009)

Alice McKenna (Summer student, 2009)

Paul Venn (Summer student 2009, then Research student 2010/2012, now in military R&D)